Lamar Jackson’s second AP NFL MVP award is nearly unanimous.

The experience of Lamar Jackson personally accepting the Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player award was a bittersweet one.
Jackson was an almost unanimous choice for his second Most Valuable Player award, which was unveiled at NFL Honors on Thursday night. However, the quarterback’s Baltimore Ravens were unable to qualify for the Super Bowl on Sunday due to a loss of one game.

The statement made by Jackson was, “I would rather send in a video to win the award.” “It is a privilege to be here to accept the award, but I would much rather be in the Super Bowl accepting this award,” the recipient said. A nationwide panel of voters, which comprises members of the media who regularly cover the National Football League, former players, and coaches, gave the All-Pro quarterback 49 of the 50 votes that were cast in the first place category.

Lamar Jackson's second AP NFL MVP award is nearly unanimous.
Lamar Jackson’s second AP NFL MVP award is nearly unanimous.

Even though Jackson led the Baltimore Ravens to the best record in the National Football League during the regular season (14-5), they were defeated by the Kansas City Chiefs in the AFC championship game. Jackson, who is 27 years old, is the fourth player to win his second Most Valuable Player award before turning 28. He joins Patrick Mahomes, who is also 27, Brett Favre, who is 27, and Jim Brown, who is 22.
“This is a privilege. As Jackson put it, “I guess I’m in some pretty good company.”

Christian McCaffrey, a running back for the San Francisco 49ers, was determined to be the best offensive player of the year by the Associated Press. During the game between the 49ers and the Chiefs on Sunday, he will make an effort to add a Super Bowl ring to his collection of trophies.

T.J. Watt was the winner of the Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year award, but Myles Garrett of the Cleveland Browns was the winner. With a resounding victory, the Associated Press Offensive Rookie of the Year award went to C.J. Stroud, the quarterback for the Houston Texans. Stroud’s Houston teammate, defensive end Will Anderson Jr., was awarded the Associated Press Defensive Rookie of the Year title. Anderson Jr. had two more first-place votes than both Jalen Carter and Kobie Turner, who were also considered for the award. The Browns were the recipients of four awards.

Lamar Jackson's second AP NFL MVP award is nearly unanimous.

Joe Flacco, the quarterback for the Cleveland Browns, which came off the bench to lead the team to the playoffs, was honored as the Associated Press Comeback Player of the Year. In the race for the Associated Press Coach of the Year award, Kevin Stefanski narrowly defeated DeMeco Ryans of Houston by a single vote. After coaching the team that was ranked first in the league, defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz was awarded the title of Assistant Coach of the Year by the Associated Press.

Garrett remarked about the Browns, “It was a special year for a special team,” to describe their season. “I believe that the following year is going to be our year.”

Additionally, Jackson had a remarkable year, despite the fact that he was dissatisfied with the outcome of the AFC championship game.

Josh Allen, quarterback for the Buffalo Bills, was the recipient of the one vote for most valuable player that he did not earn. While leading Baltimore to a record 10 victories over teams that finished with a winning record, Jackson threw for 3,678 yards and 24 touchdowns and ran for 821 yards and five scores.

Lamar Jackson’s second AP NFL MVP award is nearly unanimous.

Lamar Jackson's second AP NFL MVP award is nearly unanimous.

He also led Baltimore to a record eight touchdown passes. In the divisional round, he was instrumental in the Ravens’ victory against Houston, but he struggled in the AFC championship game, which they lost to the Chiefs by a score of 17-10.McCaffrey, the All-Pro running back for San Francisco, won 39 of the 50 first-place votes for Over-the-Top Player of the Year, surpassing the wide receiver for the Dolphins, Tyreek Hill. As the NFL’s leading rusher with 1,459 yards and 14 touchdowns on the ground, McCaffrey was selected for All-Pro honors by every single team. In addition to that, he had 564 yards receiving and seven touchdowns.

“I feel so fortunate to be a part of the best organization on the planet, so thank you for believing in me,” McCaffrey said. “I am absolutely grateful for your support.”

Similar to how dominant he was on the opposite side of the ball, Garrett was also dominant. As a result of his 23 first-place votes and 165 points, he was able to defeat Watt for the title of DPOY. Garrett had 14 sacks, 30 quarterback hits, 17 tackles for loss, four forced turnovers, and also forced offensive coordinators to avoid his side of the field. This was accomplished despite the fact that he was always being double-teamed.

Lamar Jackson's second AP NFL MVP award is nearly unanimous.

For Outstanding Rookie of the Year, Stroud garnered 48 of the 50 votes, while Puka Nacua, a wide receiver for the Los Angeles Rams, won the remaining two votes. In addition to having a passer rating of 100.8, which was the third-best for a rookie, Stroud threw for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns, and five interceptions. He was selected with the second overall choice. The Texans were able to go from being in last place in the AFC South to being in first place, and he also guided them to victory in the wild-card round of the playoffs.

“I’m the kind of person who wonders what’s next and what I can do better, but when I think back on the season, which was my first, it’s special just to be in the National Football League, let alone on a winning team,” Stroud said.

Leave a Comment